The Sights of Lyon

Hi everyone! First of all, I would like to take the time to thank you for continually tuning in to my adventures. I really appreciate it!

Let me first introduce the characters of my adventure:

  • Alex is a sixth-year graduate student at the University of Minnesota who is working on the CMS project. He is graduating this spring after he finishes his thesis, which is titled something along the lines of “Measurement of Ψ* with Z to ee events”. After that, he is heading out to Silicon Valley to participate in a program which trains people with technical Ph.D.s to become data scientists, and places them with a company. (Pictured center)
  • Sean is a fourth-year graduate student at the University of Minnesota, who is also working on the CMS project. (Pictured right)
  • And then me, of course! Boy, I am pretty short. (Pictured left)

Group pic Lyon

Since it was a weekend-long trip, this post would get very long if I told you about every single detail. So I have just included the highlights! As always, I am open to any further questions!


My Favorite Sights

I loved getting to see and explore the ruins of ancient Roman amphitheaters, which were built during the first century. It is incredible to imagine the lives of people who once lived, worked, and were entertained here.

Lyon Roman Ruins 1

This is the large Amphitheater. It used to seat over 10,000 people! Also, next to it, is the smaller Odeon, which sat 3,000 people. Standing in the center, one can almost imagine what it was like to be a performer with all eyes on you.

IMG_3376

A ways away, we also got to see the Amphitheater of the Three Gauls, which is where the first Christians were martyred in Lyon in 177.

Wherever you are in the city, it is impossible to escape the gaze of the Basilica of Notre-Dame sitting up on the hill.

Lyon Basilica 1

Going inside the basilica is an experience like none other. I can honestly say that this is the most beautifully intricate building I have ever seen. I could sit inside for hours and still not absorb all there is to see.

Lyon Basilica inside

The WWI monument in the Parc de la Tête d’Or was very moving. It depicts men bearing the coffin of a deceased comrade. It was a welcome departure from other monuments that glorify acts of war.

Lyon WWI memorial

There were also walls bearing all the names of men from the Lyon area who gave their lives to the war. So many names.

IMG_3483

We spent a few hours at the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lyon, and I wish we would have had more time. They have a wide range of sculptures, antiquities, and paintings. As someone who used to be very interested in Egypt, I was fascinated by their collection of sarcophagi and other Egyptian artifacts. We also go the chance to see some original Monets and Picassos.

Lyon Art Museum SculpturesLyon Art Museum Paintings

These were my highlights, but there is really a lot to see in Lyon! If you want to see more of my pictures, check them out on Facebook.


Travel Logistics

Thankfully, public transportation here is really top notch. I drive a car that is provided by CERN, but that means that it can’t be taken outside of the LHC ring. So our journey started with a short drive to CERN, where we parked the car and hopped on the tram (buy tickets at the tram station) which took us to Geneva’s main train station. From there, we got on the train (buy tickets ahead of time online or from the train station), which took us to Lyon in about two hours.

There are two train stations in Lyon. One is Perrache, which is the one I would recommend for tourists. It is very close to the heart of downtown, and notably less busy. The other one, Part Dieu, is in the center of the business district. This is the one that our departing train left from, and it was busier than any airport I have ever seen!

We booked out room through hostels.com. This worked out very well for us! We got an inexpensive room at Hotel Berlioz which was not extravagant, but there were clean beds and hot showers, which were just what we needed.

While we were there, we got around by walking. This is very manageable, but it is a big city and we were tired at the end of both days. If you are looking for something slightly less strenuous, there is an extensive public transit system. If you have questions about it, I would stop by the tourism office. They provided maps and suggestions of what to do.


Reflections

Lyon was a really spectacular city. I think with a little bit of planning and some determination, you can tackle it in a weekend. Of course, there will still be things you don’t have time to see, so you’ll have to choose carefully!

I would definitely recommend the basilica, Roman ruins, and art museum. There are a lot of really beautiful buildings right in the downtown and old town areas, so definitely spend some time wandering around. The park and business district on the eastern side of the city is nice, but you could probably skip it for a weekend trip (though the park might be better during the nice summer months). Some things that I didn’t get a chance to do this time around, but would look in to for a second visit, are a tour of the city’s traboules and a trip out to ruins of ancient aqueducts.

I had such a spectacular time traveling. I can’t wait for my next excursion. But I will admit, however much I love seeing, trying, and doing new things, I also really love snuggling in bed with my pajamas and reading my book!

Leave a comment